Different Stages of Samadhi For Beginners

 Daily human life consists of countless thoughts and dreams. Some could inspire you, whereas, some distract you. The human consciousness helps you experience a wide variety of emotions and feelings. With higher consciousness, a person can attain samadhi. However, for that, you need to move through different stages of samadhi.

This article covers a brief of samadhi, early signs of samadhi, and its different stages. Therefore, you should get through every point mentioned in this article to enhance your understanding. The more you understand, the easier will it become to achieve samadhi. Keep reading.

Samadhi: Introduction

The word Samadhi is made up of two words - ‘sama’ & ‘dhi’. Sama means ‘equanimous’ whereas dhi means ‘intellect’. Hence, samadhi is a mental state in which a person stays equanimous while maintaining the intellect throughout his or her life.

Hence, a person who achieves samadhi is always observant of his or her thoughts. When this happens, the concept of object and subject vanishes. The practitioner reaches a state of ultimate bliss. Let’s have a brief insight into the different stages of samadhi.

Stages of Samadhi


The very first level of samadhi is Samprajnata samadhi which ensures you follow meditation practice deeply and diligently. It further revolves around happiness and satvik living. In short, this state of samadhi is temporary after which the practitioner rolls back to the body or the physical dimension.

In this stage of samadhi, a yogi uses a concrete thought or object as a base of meditation. With regular practice, the yogi achieves psychic powers that fill the person with knowledge and power. The meditation practitioner is conscious of the physical surroundings when in this state.

However, he or she is aware of the psychological changes going at the back of his or her head. The Samprajnata has four stages of samadhi. Let’s learn more about them.

  1. Savitarka Samadhi

    The word Tarka refers to reasoning abilities. When you enter this state of samadhi, you gain strong reasoning skills that help you argue better. However, on a deeper level, the practitioner struggles between the physical and the mental dimension.


  2. Savichara Samadhi

    In this form of samadhi, the mind of a yoga practitioner stays calm. However, he or she has numerous thoughts going at the back of the psyche. Communication between the higher Universe takes place. But the things still take place through space and time. Energy becomes a prime currency for the exchange of thoughts inside a practitioner.


  3. Sananda Samadhi

    A state in which a yogi’s thoughts are balanced in perfect proportion is the Sananda Samadhi. Every element in your body flows seamlessly. It further activates the Sushumna Nadi. Once every nerve and process is in perfect equilibrium, the yogi enters a blissful state. When you enter this state, you gain an empty and thoughtless mind.

  1. Asmita Samadhi

    A state that is devoid of any emotion or feeling is Asmita Samadhi. Your ego or I-ness becomes one with the higher Universe. What you gain is pure consciousness. Hence, you must join a 200-hour yoga teacher training course to attain Asmita Samadhi.

Asamprajnata Samadhi

One of the other levels of samadhis is Asamprajnata samadhi. In this form, there is no object or thoughts that you can use to meditate upon. You gain pure and desireless once you reach this blissful state. You enter a world beyond the physical dimension.

Nothing from the external world can interfere with you. Rather you become still and calm.

Wrap Up

Achieving samadhi might take years. Therefore, you must be consistent with your practice. For that, a 200 RYT Certification course could be a perfect option for you. Be sure to learn under the guidance of a yoga teacher. Being aware of even the littlest things will ensure you reach your goal sooner. So, you should keep learning to have the best yoga experience.

Popular posts from this blog

Details for Binary Options Affiliate Network and Related Queries